For Wilbert, a True Friend and Mentor

“This can’t be true.” I looked again
but the words remained there, plain to see.
“Life’s setting sun is sinking low.”
I wondered, “how could this be?”

The very one who, so many times,
stood firm for what you knew was right
and who broke down walls to get things done,
with modesty, honesty and foresight.

And who, for friends, and home and family
stood strong, the worst you’d face
is now facing the end, but still my friend 
holds courage, strength and grace.

And for my part, stronger than the sadness
I know some time soon I must endure
from my memory springs the many things
I have yet to thank you for.

I’m reminded of the first time we met.
You, then the province’s consultant for Math Ed.
agreed to help this “young gaffer” (your words)  
with advice on a paper I just couldn’t put to bed.

Well, based on the insight and knowledge
you so freely gave me on that day
my mediocre work improved
and, thanks to you, the paper earned an “A”.

And then in the early nineties when
distance education physics was set to go
and I hinted “hire me” to who was in charge
my rejection came as a humbling blow.

But when my school board got a call
asking if they could second me to do that very chore
I knew right then there was one more thing
I had to thank you for.

And then, later on, when the axe fell,
budgets slashed and so much was let go
you found a way for me to stay,
even gave me more chances for to grow.

Like when you managed the Vista project
which reinvisioned online learning,
you found for me a space–and t’was through that grace
my career took its next turning.

For the skills I learned all through that time
and the responsibilities you helped me learn to bear
I did apply as we built CDLI,
so thanks, too, for all those years.

I’ve often wondered how best to thank you for
the opportunities, support and, of course, advice
but I came to see you just did it unselfishly.
There never was a price.

And so, now I work my time with those
on the same path that that we once chose.
And the journey they’re on is so very long.
It’s a less kind world these days, I do suppose.

Still it seems to me that the best way
to honour all the kindness you’ve bestowed
is to pass it on and try to help those
with whom I share this road.

So when I find a way to help another
through some thing I say or do
I’ll feel that same sense of gratitude
and smile, then and there,
as I think of you.

wilbert-01
My favourite picture of you, taken back in ’99 on the occasion of your retirement. Back Row: Lloyd Gill. Wayne Oakley, Harvey Weir, Dave Dibbon, Rachel Handrigan, Wade Sheppard, Rene Wicks. Front Row: Wilbert Boone, Maureen Boone, Jean Brown, Maurice Barry

9 thoughts on “For Wilbert, a True Friend and Mentor

  1. Mary

    Sorry for the news regarding your mentor and colleague. I am sure he, as well as his friends and family will truly appreciate this tribute from “a gaffer”

  2. Ralph Andrews

    Wilbert Boone did an amazing job in promoting Mathematics education in the schools of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. He was a strong voice as well as a very positive influence on the educators that he worked with in the field as well as at the board level and the Department of Eucation. Friend and Colleague, Ralph Andrews

  3. Hi Maurice. I am sorry to have been out of touch for so long. How are you? I almost didn’t recognize you in your new gravatar image. I am doing OK and am glad to be working with the camera again. We’ll see how long it lasts! D

    1. All’s well here. Still working with the pre-service teachers at Memorial and still loving it. Haven’t been contributing much to the blog lately as much of what I would like to rite about involves the day-to-day interactions with my students and I figure I need to let a few years pass so that they can enjoy a bit of anonymity instead of playing obvious roles in my written ramblings! Glad to see you’re back it it!

Comments are Welcome!